← Docket · Setup · FAQ · Security

An honest comparison

Six rows where Docket is the better buy, and three where it is not. If your work arrives in several accounts at once, and you want to answer it in place without sending it to anyone's cloud, the table below is the case for buying this one. If what you need is a phone app, a trial, or Linux, one of the other five is the better buy and the table tells you which. Checked September 2026. Every cell was re-read against the vendor's own pricing, integration, privacy or security page on 14 September 2026, not against reputation; the pages themselves are listed under the table. Prices change; if a cell has gone stale, tell us and it gets fixed. Where a vendor's own pages did not state something, the cell says not listed or not stated rather than filling the gap with a guess in either direction. Comparison pages that only flatter their author are advertising, so where they beat us gets its own section here instead of a footnote.

AkiflowSunsamaMotionMorgenRoutineDocket
Price $34/mo · $19/mo annual$22/mo · $17/mo annual$19/seat/mo (−33% annual) $30/mo · $15/mo annualFree · $5–10/mo€18/mo · €180/yr
Try before you buy 7-day trial14-day trial, no cardfree trial, length not stated 14-day trial, no card + 30-day refundfree tierno trial — 14-day refund, no questions
Platform desktop · mobileMac · Win · Linux · mobile · webdesktop · mobile · web Mac · Win · Linux · mobile · webMac · Win · Linux · mobile · webmacOS, deliberately
Where your data lives their cloud, account requiredtheir cloud, account requiredtheir cloud, account required their own tasks in their cloud; calendar events and third-party tasks "not stored in our servers" (their privacy policy)"designed as a local-first app. All data is stored locally on your device", plus daily encrypted cloud backups (their security page) ✓ your Mac · no server of ours holds it, no account
Jira yes (their docs) · deployments and multi-account not statedyes · multi-account · Cloud only (their docs)not listed (their page) not listed; Zapier is (their page)listed; depth not stated✓ multi-account, hosted + self-hosted together
Figma comments not listednot listednot listednot listedFigma listed; comments not mentioned ✓ incl. mentions addressed to teammates
Write-back Jira status on completion, to a status you pick (their docs)Jira status on completion (their docs)not listed (their page) status and dates to Notion and Obsidian; Jira not listednot stated ✓ comment · status · estimate · priority · assignee · work log (Jira) · new ticket, on Jira and Linear · Figma reply · calendar block · proposals wait for your approval, every write audited
System-wide dictation not listednot listednot listed not listednot listed ✓ hold a key, speak into any app — transcribed on this Mac
Where the AI runs not stated on their pagesnot stated on their pagestheir cloud, AI credits metered per seat (their pricing) not stated on their pagesnot stated on their pages✓ on your Mac, by default

marks the six rows Docket is built for. The three without a tick are where the others are the better buy: they are cheaper, they let you try before paying, and they run on more than one platform.

The pages this table was read from, all on 14 September 2026. Akiflow: pricing, Jira help article. Sunsama: pricing, Jira docs. Motion: pricing, integrations. Morgen: pricing, integrations, privacy policy. Routine: pricing, integrations, security. "Not listed" and "not stated" mean their own pages did not say it on that date; we don't fill gaps with guesses, in either direction, and a cell that outran its source gets cut rather than softened. A linked cell is a claim you can check against the vendor rather than against us.

The one-sentence difference

You answer from the screen where you noticed it, and the answer lands in the account it came from. Docket runs on your Mac, and your comment, status change, estimate or Figma reply goes back to the tool that owns the item when you send it, with an audit trail. Most tools that gather your work either keep it on their servers or only let you read it. Akiflow and Sunsama genuinely write Jira status back when you complete a task. Docket posts your comment, moves the ticket and sets the estimate, across Cloud and self-hosted accounts at once. The Write-back row above says what each of the others does.

Meeting notes: checked separately, ten tools deep

Checked 14 September 2026 against the vendors' own pages: Granola, Motion, Sunsama, Akiflow, Morgen, Fellow, Otter, tl;dv, Notion's AI meeting notes and Fathom. Every name is now linked to the page its claim came from. Two things are common, so we won't pretend they're special. Recording without a bot joining the call: Granola's security page describes it accessing your microphone and your meeting audio on your computer, Otter's own post describes "apps that record directly from the device microphone with no bot required", Fathom's pricing page sells a "Choice of bot-free* and bot capture-types (*Beta feature for Mac)", and Notion's help page describes recording inside the Notion app. And extracting action items, which every recorder here does. Two of these names lost a claim this pass: tl;dv's and Fellow's own pages say nothing about a bot-free mode, so we no longer say it for them.

Two claims we used to make on this page are gone, and you should know why. We used to say Granola reaches Jira only through Zapier. Its integrations page lists Jira natively and offers to "Turn meeting action items into Jira issues", so that gap is not the gap we were describing. We also used to say Granola sends meeting audio to third-party transcription providers. Its security page names Deepgram and Assembly for transcription and OpenAI and Anthropic for summarising, and says Granola does not store meeting audio; what it does not say is where the transcription itself runs, so we will not say it either.

What is left is narrower and checkable. Docket records and transcribes on your own Mac, with a speech model downloaded once and run here afterwards, and the follow-ups land on your day plan, your Jira, your Linear and your calendar from one review screen. Motion has an AI meeting notetaker of its own on its integrations page, and what it captures lands in Motion. Fellow's Jira integration runs both ways on its own page: action items become Jira issues, with "status updates flowing both directions". That is the closest thing on this list to the routing half of what we do.

Where they beat us, honestly

Akiflow: mobile apps, email and Slack capture, a mature command-bar time-blocking flow, and more integrations than we have. Sunsama: a guided daily-planning ritual we don't attempt, a 14-day no-card trial, and it runs on everything including Linux. Motion: a deeper auto-scheduling AI calendar than ours, with docs and time-tracking bundled. Morgen: a friendlier purchase risk (trial plus a 30-day refund), every platform, and documented Obsidian write-back. Routine: half our price or free, and a real local-first architecture of its own.

If those rows matter more to you than ours do, buy theirs, genuinely. Docket is for you if your work arrives in several systems and several accounts at once: two or three Jiras, a calendar, a mailbox, a couple of clients. If you want the answering done from one screen, written back to the account it came from, and your clients' work kept on the machine you already trust with it, this is the one to buy.

One last thing worth being plain about: what you are comparing against is rarely nothing. The realistic alternative is a dictation tool, a meeting notetaker and a work aggregator, bought separately, each priced in the same order as this one. The table above cites what each vendor asks. Docket is the three of them on one machine, across all your accounts.

Want it?

Buy Docket → €18 a month, or €180 a year — two months free.